Three Eminent Columbia University Medical Center Researchers Elected to National Academy of Sciences

On April 27, 2020, it was announced that prominent Columbia University Iriving Medical Center researchers Angela Christiano, PhD, Molly Przeworski, PhD, and Lorraine S. Symington, PhD, had been elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Dr. Przeworski was also elected this month to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, which recognizes and celebrates excellence of scientists, artists, scholars, and leaders in the public, non-profit, and private sectors. The National Academy of Sciences announced the election of Dr. Christiano, Dr. Przeworski, and Dr. Symington, with 143 other new members ( Dr. Christiano ( is the Richard and Mildred Rhodebeck Professor of Dermatology and Professor of Genetics and Development at Columbia University Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons. She is also Vice Chair of Research in the Department of Dermatology. Dr. Christiano's research has focused on understanding the genetic and molecular mechanisms that underlie inherited skin and hair disorders in humans. Her longstanding research program has been focused on determining the genetic and immunologic mechanisms underlying alopecia areata, an autoimmune form of hair loss. Her laboratory’s research has identified potential therapeutic targets for this disorder, including JAK inhibitors that are now in widespread clinical development by several large pharmaceutical companies and will likely represent the first class of FDA-approved drugs for alopecia areata.
Login Or Register To Read Full Story