Superfast Science Wins Nobel Prize for Physics–Role of AttoChem

Anne L’Huillier shared 2023 Nobel Prize for Physics with Two Others

In October 2023, the Nobel Prize for Physics was awarded for “experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for studying electron dynamics in matter.” This burgeoning field of research and its practical application have benefitted greatly from the support of a series of European Cooperation in Science & Technology (COST) Actions including the Action Attosecond Chemistry (AttoChem). The 2023 prize was jointly awarded to Pierre Agostini of Ohio State University, Ferenc Krausz of the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics in Munich, and Anne L’Huillier of Lund University in Sweden, who is an active member of AttoChem. COST is proud to have worked with all three Prize winners in one or more Actions that have helped build a thriving European research community in this important field.

Login Or Register To Read Full Story