Outstanding Eye Physicians & Surgeons Recognized at 2015 American Academy of Ophthalmology Annual Meeting

The American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) has paid tribute to outstanding eye physicians and surgeons who have made significant achievements in various areas of the profession. These range from scientific innovation and humanitarian service to education and advocacy. The honorees were recognized , the Academy’s 119th annual meeting (AAO 2015) in Las Vegas, Nevada (November 14-17, 2015). Each year, the Academy presents a series of awards to exemplary member ophthalmologists. The most prestigious of these honors is the Laureate Recognition Award. It recognizes ophthalmologists who have made exceptional scientific contributions to preventing blindness and restoring sight worldwide. This year’s recipient is esteemed educator and innovator Bruce E. Spivey, M.D., M.S., M.Ed. Dr. Spivey’s achievements span almost every area of the profession. He was the first CEO of the American Academy of Ophthalmology when it separated from the American Academy of Otolaryngology in1978. Under Dr. Spivey’s leadership, the Academy experienced tremendous growth. It formed its charitable foundation and developed a code of ethics for the profession of ophthalmology. It also initiated the Academy’s EyeCare America® public service program that provides eye exams and care for medically underserved seniors often at no out-of-pocket cost. He also led the establishment of the Ophthalmic Mutual Insurance Company, the largest insurer of ophthalmologists in the United States. Most recently, Dr. Spivey has served as President of the International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO), presiding over that organization’s growth in global ophthalmic education. The ICO represents and serves professional associations of ophthalmologists throughout the world. "Dr.
Login Or Register To Read Full Story