ASHG Names Dianna Milewicz, MD, PhD As Winner of the 2023 ASHG Advocacy Award

Dr. Dianna Milewicz

On July 25, 2023, the American Society of Human Genetics (ASHG) named Dianna Milewicz, MD, PhD, as the 2023 recipient of the ASHG Advocacy Award. Dr. Milewicz is the President George H.W. Bush Chair of Cardiovascular Medicine, Director of the Division of Medical Genetics and Vice-Chair of the Department of Internal Medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) McGovern Medical School. This award, which includes a $10,000 prize, is bestowed upon an individual or group of individuals who have exhibited excellence and achievement in promoting the science of human genetics and its application for the common good. “Dr. Milewicz’s work has led to extensive discoveries and life-saving care related to aortic diseases,” said ASHG President Brendan Lee, MD, PhD. “She exemplifies the ASHG Advocacy Award in her engagement and collaboration with patients with these diseases, their families, and a wide spectrum of professionals who care for these patients. It is clear that they all express gratitude and admiration for her and her work.” The award was announced ahead of the ASHG 2023 Annual Meeting November 1-5 in Washington, DC.

Login Or Register To Read Full Story