2023 Ross Prize Awarded to UTSW Geneticists; Helen Hobbs and Jonathan Cohen Will Be Honored for Ground-Breaking Liver Disease Research During Symposium in New York City May 31; In-Person and Virtual Attendance Offered

Dr. Helen Hobbs and Dr. Jonathan Cohen

The Feinstein Institutes for Medical Research has selected two scientists from the University of Texas Southwestern (UTSW) Medical Center, Helen H. Hobbs, MD, and Jonathan C. Cohen, PhD, to receive the 10th annual Ross Prize in Molecular Medicine for ground-breaking research in dyslipidemias and metabolic liver disease. The duo was the first to discover the genetic cause of fatty liver disease in humans, and their ongoing work has led to a new class of cholesterol-lowering drugs. The prize will be presented on May 31 in conjunction with the New York Academy of Sciences (NYAS) at Cure, 345 Park Avenue South. in Manhattan, and will take place as part of a half-day research symposium featuring a number of distinguished speakers. Register (in person or virtual). The Ross Prize is made possible by the generosity of Feinstein Institutes Board Vice Chairman Jack Ross and his wife, Robin, Senior Principal Gifts Officer at the Northwell Health Foundation. Established in 2013, the Ross Prize is awarded annually through the Feinstein Institutes’ peer-reviewed, open-access journal Molecular Medicine. The prize includes a $50,000 award for each recipient and is given to investigators whose research shows high potential for transforming how we treat and cure disease.

Login Or Register To Read Full Story