2023 Mary Jane O’Neill Fellowship Announced by Eye Bank

On September 16, 2022, The Eye Bank Association of America (EBAA) Board of Directors announced the 2023 Mary Jane O’Neill Fellowship in International Eye Banking is awarded to Elisabeth Cittadino, Ophthalmologist and Technical Director of Hospital Oftalomológico Santa Lucía Eyebank in Buenos Aires, Argentina since 2003. According to Dr. Cittadino, her eye bank was gifted a microkeratome, however it cannot be used to process tissue for DSAEK surgeries due to a lack of training. Her primary goal as the 2023 Mary Jane O’Neill Fellow is to obtain this training so that the Santa Lucía Eyebank can provide pre-cut tissue to surgeons wanting to perform this innovative cornea transplant procedure for patients in need.

Login Or Register To Read Full Story