2023 Lasker Awards for Biomedical Research Announced

On September 21, 2023, the Lasker Foundation announced the winners of its 2023 Lasker Awards: Demis Hassabis and John Jumper (Google DeepMind) are the recipients of the Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award; James G. Fujimoto (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), David Huang (Oregon Health & Science University), and Eric Swanson (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) receive the Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award; and Piet Borst (Netherlands Cancer Institute) is honored with the Lasker-Koshland Special Achievement Award. Established in 1945 by Mary and Albert Lasker, pioneering biomedical research advocates, the Lasker Awards are now widely regarded as America’s preeminent biomedical research prize. The awards carry an honorarium of $250,000 for each category. The awards will be presented at a gala ceremony in New York City on Friday, September 29, 2023. More information--including additional background on this year’s winners and specially-created animated videos about their achievements--is available at laskerfoundation.org. Also see additional information below.

Login Or Register To Read Full Story