2022 Nobel Prize in Chemistry Awarded for Revolutionary “Click Chemistry”–Award Goes to Trio of Sharpless, Meldal, and Bertozzi  

On October 5, 2022, it was announced that The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2022 to Carolyn R. Bertozzi, PhD, Stanford University, California, USA; Morten Meldal, PhD, University of Copenhagen, Denmark; and K. Barry Sharpless, PhD, Scripps Research, La Jolla, California, USA “for the development of click chemistry and bioorthogonal chemistry.” The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2022 is about making difficult processes easier. Dr. Sharpless and Dr. Meldal have laid the foundation for a functional form of chemistry—click chemistry--in which molecular building blocks snap together quickly and efficiently. Dr. Bertozzi has taken click chemistry to a new dimension and started utilizing it in living organisms. Hit Read More for extensive background information regarding this prestigious award.
Login Or Register To Read Full Story