2014 Lasker Awards Announced, Often Prelude to Nobel Prize

On September 8, 2014, The Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation announced the winners of the 2014 Lasker Awards: Kazutoshi Mori and Peter Walter for basic medical research; Alim Louis Benabid and Mahlon R. DeLong for clinical research; and Mary-Claire King for special achievement. "For nearly 70 years, the Lasker Awards have honored extraordinary individuals who have made fundamental biological discoveries, developed therapies to dramatically improve patient care, and provided mentorship and leadership to pave the way for the next generation of scientists," said Claire Pomeroy, President of the Lasker Foundation. "This year's laureates join that tradition and illustrate to the public why science is so worthy of our support." Walter (University of California, San Francisco) and Mori (Kyoto University, Japan) will receive the 2014 Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award for discoveries that elucidate a key quality-control system in the cell, the unfolded protein response. DeLong (Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta) and Benabid (Joseph Fourier University, Grenoble, France) will receive the 2014 Lasker~DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award for developing a surgical technique that reduces tremors and restores motor function in patients who have advanced Parkinson's disease. Mary-Claire King (University of Washington, Seattle) will receive the 2014 Lasker~Koshland Special Achievement Award for her contributions to medical science and human rights. Joseph L. Goldstein, Chair of the Lasker Medical Research Awards Jury, observed that the award-winning research was spurred by scientists who anticipated key questions. "This year's Lasker winners have the uncanny ability to spot the next big thing in their field," he said.
Login Or Register To Read Full Story